The Lighthouse Café

 

 

 

A relaxed space to meet and explore significant ideas and themes in a welcoming atmosphere, with people from around the world.

At H3Uni we explore ways of working together to build a worthwhile future for all.

Our Lighthouse Café is an online space where we can meet informally to shine a light into a particular idea, from different perspectives.

Each Café is 90 minutes. We use video conferencing, visual thinking, screen sharing. You can join by computer or by telephone.

At the end of each Café, the room is left open so that the dialogue can continue. You are also invited to join our community and continue the dialogue there, sharing information with others.

Topics are chosen from the many dialogues in and around H3Uni. The Café atmosphere may be informal but the subject matters are of the essence for the issues we all face. Previous Cafés have focused on topics like Collaboration and Transformation.

Upcoming Lighthouse Cafés

Cafe Regular

Café Regular

Café Regular hosts topics of current interest for the sake of reflection in thoughtful dialogue.  Visitors are offered some initial ideas, and the group that is present creates the ensuing conversation.

 

Narrative

Sign me up for Narrative

Wisdom

Sign me up for Wisdom

Power

Sign me up for Power

Purpose

Sign me up for Purpose

 

 

Awareness

Sign me up for Awareness

Transformation

Sign me up for Transformation

Collegium

A talk by a leading researcher in the chosen topic followed by discussion facilitated by Dr Anthony Hodgson.

Access is by invitation (anthony.hodgson@h3uni.org)

Session III

SYSTEMS THINKING FOR A TURBULENT WORLD

Tuesday 4 September, 2018

Dr Anthony Hodgson

 

 

Session IV

Pattern dynamics – beyond systems thinking

Tuesday 9 October, 2018

Bill Sharpe

 

Session V

The challenge of future earth

Tuesday 6 November, 2018

Christina Cooke

 

Session VI

The illusion of detachment

Tuesday 4 December, 2018

Gerald Midgley

 

Session VII

Spririt of Place: a triadic view

Tuesday  8 January, 2018

David Seamon

 

Previous Lighthouse Cafés Include...

Cafe Regular

 

 

Resilience

Wednesday 23 May,  2018

What is needed for resilience in a world that grows ever more networked and yet more brittle, divided and unpredictable? Join us to explore this third horizon topic.

 

What is Sacred ?

Viability

Anger

November 21, 2017

Anger: Its uses and pitfalls.

Ethos

Identity

September 19, 2017

Hope

March 28, 2017

Cafe Extra

The Café Extra  invites a speaker to introduce a topic that they care about, for visitors then to consider together in dialogue. A richer mix of well informed ideas to stimulate discussion, collaborative reflection and shared perception. 

Anger with Kerri Brock

July 11th  2018

How can the potentially wild and dangerous emotion of anger be better understood? What evolutionary purposes does anger serve, and how might these benefit a third horizon enterprise?   A necessary conversation to open fresh insights.

Sign me up for Anger

Transcending Professionalism with Ian Wight

Wednesday 6th June

How should learning evolve to sustain professionals in times of accelerating change? Will professionalism prove to be an asset or a straightjacket? It is timely to consider the vital role that responsible professionals play in creating change.

Decision Making in the Third Horizon

December 12 2017

What does decision making look like as we work towards a worthwhile future for all?

The BlockChain

October 17, 2017

How can this be used to generate not just new currencies and ways of exchanging value, but also new forms of organisation?

Collegium

Session II

Knowledge for the 21st Century

July 10 2018

Professor Alfonso Montuori invites us to a discussion of his current thinking on Knowledge for the 21st Century which is also a new programme he is to teach  at the California Institute of Integral Studies. Alfonso`s study of social creativity is very relevant to the aspirations of H3Uni. We hope to further our thinking about future education through this dialogue.

 

The Lighthouse Café begins @:

 

Pacific: 11:30am

Mountain: 12:30pm

Central: 1:30pm

Eastern: 2:30pm

Atlantic: 3:30pm

UK: 19:30

Central Europe: 20:30

(or, find your time zone at WorldTimeBuddy.com)

 

You will receive a Zoom link close to the date of your call.

Please test the link 10-15 minutes in advance of the start time.